Introducing: THE LOLIDUDES

Some time in 2009, a bunch of people on Plurk had this weird conversation that pretty much revolved around the concept, “Wouldn’t it be funny if we put totally straight guys in these really nice lolita outfits and have them do a cooking show?”

Before we knew it, dresses were designed and commissioned, camera equipment were borrowed, schedules were aligned, somebody’s kitchen was taken over, tuna was purchased, and this was what we ended up with: THE LOLIDUDES.

The dresses had a bunch of major flaws as seamstresses apparently weren’t used to dressing up dudes who weren’t entering a gay pageant. much less dress them up in frilly outfits with petticoats and everything, so I had to repair that a day or two before the scheduled shoot. We had to buy rice from a 7-11 because we forgot to cook some. We almost got lost going to our friend’s house to commandeer her flat. Etc etc etc.

But we had so much fun. ❤

Now, I’m reading the YouTube comments, and my it warms my heart and I can tell myself that this was a successful venture. ❤

LOLOLOLOLOL

ANYWAY, I made the headpieces, arm warmers and wrist cuffs you see on NaNa and RuRu from scratch. I’m pretty proud of that. XDD YAY.

PS: YouTube stripped the vid of sound maybe a year after it was uploaded, and I gave everything up for lost since reformats and new PCs have caused us to lose the original copy. But when I checked again last week while I was having a nostalgia trip, BEHOLD! The sound is back! XDDD

Leave a Reply

