Let’s (try to) Play! Sid Meier’s Civilization V

sid meier's civilization 5 v civ 5 comic roads building

.56

LOL Late to the party, I know. :p

So I mentioned in a previous post about Banished, how I’m not very fond of city-building games, which is why I just never really got into the whole Sid Meier’s Civilization franchise. However, since I’ve been showing interest in things like Banished and Minecraft lately, my fiance who is a big Civ fan, has also been introducing me to one of his favorite games.

To be fair, I DO feel a bit more comfortable with it now, and for some reason, it’s become easier to wrap my head around the game. I guess I just didn’t have the patience to actually look at it back then (what can I say, I have a short attention span. If it’s not shiny enough, I tend to move on, LOL).

However, there IS one thing about it that causes a part of my brain to itch…

The roads.

I know, I know, it’s a cosmetic thing, but honestly, whenever players assign a road to be built from point A to point B, I’m sort of expecting a more or less straight path that connects the two points. After all, (using IRL logic. I haven’t really gotten into the game enough to know its nuances) you build roads for direct access. So whenever the roads are completed, and I look at the map, and the road created by the workers is all timey-wimey-wibbly-wobbly, it just makes me want to get a marker and draw how the road should go, directly onto the screen.

So yeah. This is me trying to rationalize WHY the workers do this. Yes. There has to be a reason…

BRAIN. SO. ITCHY.  I really hope I’m not the only one who feels this way. T__T

2 thoughts on “Let’s (try to) Play! Sid Meier’s Civilization V

  1. I’ll build my roads one hex tile at a time, the AI get weird about terrain differences and thinks it would be better to go around forests and hills. Rather than right through them.

Leave a Reply

