Maktan 1521: Chibi Lapu-Lapu

lapu lapu magellan maktan 1521 cebu philippines filipino tepai pascual fanart tribal

.76

YES. I AM STILL ALIVE. X__X

LOL sorry for the break in posts. I actually have a bunch of doodles that I’ve been doing everyday, but this week has just been INSANE, so I haven’t been able to sit down and color/post/write. X__x;;; So yeah, expect more catch-up posts from me within the next few more days. ^_^;;

Anyway, here’s a chibi version of Lapu-Lapu, one of our national heroes, who was the first guy to resist colonization, and was the guy who totally kicked Magellan’s butt. On top of that, he is also the hero in the graphic novel /indie comic Maktan 1521, a creation of awesome Filipino artist and friend, Tepai Pascual (GO CHECK IT OUT, EVERYONE).

In the meantime, I’ll just go rest a bit for now, and then panic and flail later (hey, I’m learning to schedule).

8 thoughts on “Maktan 1521: Chibi Lapu-Lapu

  1. Pingback: Belated Happy Birthday, Gabriela Silang! | Tanuki Doodles

  2. Pingback: Chibi Supremo: Andres Bonifacio | Tanuki Doodles

  3. Hello, we would like to ask if it’s possible to use this work of yours and print it on our T-shirt. We are from Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu and we have this club and would like to make a T-shirt representing Lapu-Lapu.

    • Hi there.

      First of all, thank you. I’m truly flattered that you appreciate my work enough to want to use it for your organization, and for that, I’m glad. 🙂

      However, I did some poking around, and I’ve found that your organization has actually already been using my work since August 31/September 1, a full… what, five days before you decided to actually contact me about it. Not only that, but you’ve edited my work without my permission, removed my watermarks, and also didn’t source, credit, or offer any type of attribution.

      Unfortunately, as much as I would like to be able to represent a proud org like yours, I am DECLINING. Please note that this is your formal, written notice that you are NOT ALLOWED to use my work for your organization’s branding, as well as for any type of commercial purpose such as the selling of merchandise (t-shirts, lanyards, stickers, etc etc etc).

      Thank you very much for taking the time to visit my blog. 🙂

    • I would also like to add as I stated in the post, the drawing I made is based off of Tepai Pascual’s character design (Meganon Comics author, creator of graphic novel Maktan: 1521. Great books. You should give it a try.), which therefore also makes her the co-owner of this piece. Which means that you would also have had to secure permission from her.

      • We are truly sorry for using your work without your permission. One of our member showed us the drawing and claimed it was his work and posted it on the fan page. We had some doubts since his works were different from before and tried searching “lapu-lapu chibi” on the web and found your blog. We have completely removed it now.

      • Thank you for your swift removal. And for your sake, I hope that you didn’t have to actually PAY the person who attempted to submit MY work as his.

  4. Pingback: I’m glad you like my work, but…. | Tanuki Doodles

Leave a Reply

