Overwatch Voice Actors in Manila, and I’M FREAKING OUT!

Overwatch Symmetra Sombra Pharah Zenyatta traditional filipino costume comiccon asia 2018
Click image to embiggen!

 

For the curious, here are the drawing details:

  • Sombra is wearing a Baro’t Saya with a Panuelo and Tapis, and is holding typical streetfood/snacks-on-sticks haha. It’s called “kwek-kwek” (orange-battered and deep fried hardboiled quail eggs) and “bananacue” (fried plantains with caramelized sugar).
  • Zen is wearing a “katipunero” outfit, and sipping juice out of a fresh, opened coconut (if omnics could drink??).
  • Pharah is in a not-the-usual-red Ifugao outfit, and is holding sunflowers and wearing a traditional feathered headress.
  • Symmetra is dressed as a Maranao princess, dancing the singkil. She is also materializing a “sarimanok” or Bird of Happiness from myths (aka, “lucky chicken” lol).

So I learned some time ago that Comiccon Asia 2018 was happening… AND they’re having FOUR Overwatch Voice Actors showing up as guests. ❤ ❤ ❤

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA HAVE I MENTIONED HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS GAME AND JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING IN/AROUND/ABOUT IT???

I bought tickets for autographs and photo ops with Sym’s and Sombra’s VAs despite us still kind of recovering from a massive vet bill recently (which is another long story), and my husband didn’t divorce me, so that’s good haha. I really hoped to get tickets to see everyone because who knows when they’ll be able to come back to this country — or if they’d want to — but two is the best we could do. Was also hoping to get a ticket for Zen’s VA for the husband, but it was a no go. 😦 Thankfully, hubby is cool with it, but still…  CURSE MY THIN WALLET. T__T;;

Anyway…. Soooooooo…. I bought passes for their March 25 appearance, and I suddenly got it into my head last night (at 1am saturday March 24… whyyyyyyyy…) to make a small tribute artwork for said OW VAs. And this is the result. Herp.

I don’t think I have EVER worked so fast in my life. I was even able to rush to the print shop to have it printed on A4 paper, so yay!

I’m looking forward to giving copies to Sym and Sombra… but yeah. I still don’t know how I’m supposed to hand it over to Pharah and Zen. Hopefully there’s a designated gift table, or maybe I can beg a staff member to hand it to them. I’m crossing my fingers. >__<;;;

Anyway, I copied default poses and drew Zen, Sombra, Pharah (sorry I know I can’t draw hands or feet ;w; ) in some stylized regional traditional costumes. I know I took some liberties in there, and I also know I may have gotten some of pharah’s tattoo symbolisms wrong herp pls don’t lynch me, history enthusiasts… T__T;;

In the meantime, we plan to line up early tomorrow to get our entry badges so maybe I should actually get some sleep haha

One thought on “Overwatch Voice Actors in Manila, and I’M FREAKING OUT!

Leave a comment